Cooking with Toddlers: Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice

IMG_6462

When you’re two and you have an attitude the best thing to do is squeeze some OJ.

Fig has his moments, usually in the afternoon, in which he wanders around the house like a zombie with a low-grade sob and utters ” I don’t want that“. That is an umbrella term Fig uses for anything and everything that displeases him at any given moment. For example, should I be drinking a cup of coffee when he is in one of these moods, he’ll point with a quivering lip and proclaim ” I don’t want that“; followed by a river of tears . Should I put in a load of laundry?  I don’t want that“; again cue dramatic weeping. Things like air, gravity and birds have also been cause for alligator tears.

I’ve come to realize, the only thing that will snap him out of these moods is giving him something sensory to do with his hands. Washing dishes, peeling, shelling, and lately, squeezing oranges.

The key with squeezing oranges is they must be quite soft. Too firm and little ones won’t be able to get much juice out of them. Mandarins and clementines are the best. We had some blood oranges that were a bit past their prime and quite soft. I demonstrated with a few and then Fig hit the ground running.

20 minutes later, he was enjoying a glass of freshly squeezed OJ in the garden and with his zest for life restored, returned to cavorting with the family of squirrels that have taken residence in our backyard.

IMG_6450

IMG_6458

IMG_6472

IMG_6494

3 thoughts on “Cooking with Toddlers: Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice

  1. deliciouslynell says:

    I have to agree, doing something sensory really seems to help when little ones are in a mood. I believe it was one of the many reasons mum got me into cooking and things in the first place, little terror that I was. But your Fig is absolutely gorgeous, and I love reading these stories. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

