Cooking with Toddlers: Pumpkin, Chia, and Flax Seed Falafel

IMG_1038-2

Things have been crazy around here the last few weeks. Working from home full time with a toddler and a baby that is about to pop out in a few weeks ( or sooner!) is no joke. There is a distinct possibility that our brand new baby might come home from the birth center naked since I have yet to buy a single piece of clothing for him/her. Nesting clearly hasn’t happened to me but avoidance and procrastination has.

To say I’m behind on life is a bit of an understatement but no matter how behind I am on my ever growing “to do” list we still have to eat. Which brings me to a wonderful dish that little Fig and I cooked up the other day; Pumpkin, Chia and Flax Seed Falafel. This recipe was inspired by The Vibrant Table again. As usual, we didn’t have several ingredients that she called for; so we improvised quite a bit.

Fig LOVED making the Falafel “balls” because he could really sink his hands into the mixture. The actual act of “making balls” ( as he says it) was a very engrossing activity. Fig is so full of energy that it’s always nice to see him highly focused on a task and I’ve found that quiet kitchen activities are really beneficial for him. While he’s fairly good at balancing his own inner equilibrium he sometimes needs my help. Dishes that have a sensory aspect ( a mixture, dough, or batter etc) and a fine motor skill ( the act of creating balls manually) always draws Fig into a quiet focus and falafel is an awesome combination of both.

I was also highly skeptical he’d actually eat the finished product but he did with gusto!

Pumpkin, Chia and Flax Seed Falafel

  • 4 tablespoons of ground flax seed
  • 3 tablespoons of sesame seeds
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • 1 cup of pumpkin seeds
  • 3/4 a regular can of cooked chickpeas
  • 3 tablespoons of tahini
  • 3 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 garlic minced
  • 1/8 cup of chopped cilantro
  • Salt to taste ( taste the mixture as you go to determine the amount)

IMG_1027-2

IMG_1029-2

IMG_1032-2

Directions:

  • Grind up the pumpkin seeds so they are very small in a food processor
  • Heat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Take out several spoonfuls of the pumpkin seed and set aside to coat falafel with later.
  • Combine the remaining ingredients ( aside from the sesame seeds) in the processor and pulse until blended yet chunky
  • Here’s where an eager toddler comes into play; Form little rounded balls and coat with remaining pumpkin and sesame seed mix.
  • Place on a lightly oiled baking dish and cook for 15 minutes.
  • Serve with warm flatbread and either hummus or a tahini sauce.

IMG_1033-2

IMG_1056-2

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cooking with Toddlers: Pumpkin, Chia, and Flax Seed Falafel

  1. Kellie says:

    I had my little 3 year old rolling balls of cookie dough the other day and he loved it! I was so impressed with his skill and he was quite proud. I love the look of this recipe (and I have all ingredients in the kitchen) so I think I’ll give it a go. Hope it was super yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you

